15 Things I Want to Tell My Boys Before I Die

9 Jul

Image

If I died today, please know that I love you and each day I woke up wanting to make your life as beautiful as possible.

When I yell, it’s because I don’t want you to get hurt or to feel any type of physical pain.

When you see a tear roll down my face, I’m not sad, I am so thrilled to be your mommy and see how beautifully made you are.

I do not buy you the biggest and most expensive things because I want you to appreciate the small things in life. I love seeing you get excited about a frying pan and spatula from the dollar store.

As soon as it gets really quiet in the house, I sit there and bask in the quietness and then I jump up quickly to go see what mess you are into.

I love when Benjamin looks at Isaac and just says “I love you.” It’s also beautiful to see you two play together. To see little Isaac running around with his big brother is just heartwarming.

If I could have one wish for you in this world it would be that you never have to feel pain. I would take your place at any given moment in any given time.

I wish you boys would sit still for two minutes to let me read you a book. Good thing you have your fathers book smarts.

Your mommy and daddy fought hard to be together, so that your family can always be whole. We have two very special people to thank for that.

Life’s too short. I look at my boys and I cannot believe how fast you have grown. Although life is fast, I never forget to tassel your hair or kiss you on your soft baby cheeks.

I can’t help but laugh when you, Benjamin, tell me that I have an “act-ittude.” Your words and way of perceiving life are just too cute and funny.

I have overcome a lot, but only through God was I able to. Always give Him the glory and remain humble as you progress through life.

I can’t wait to meet your future wives and hold my future grandchildren.

The day you hug me as a man and tell me you love me, I know that all of these days will be worth it.

I want to see you grow up and get the wisdom your father has. He is a sweet and caring soul that loves your mother more than anything.

If I died today, please know I loved you. I would die for you.

Image

2 Responses to “15 Things I Want to Tell My Boys Before I Die”

  1. Leisa Good July 9, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    What a beautifully moving post, Jess. I had a tear in my eye as I read it.

    • Jess July 9, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

      Thanks Leisa 🙂 You’re sweet!

Leave a Reply

