Feast or Famine–Give it to me straight

3 Jul

Warning: Notice my blog says a “little bit of everything?” This is not your average work at home blog. Image Image Credit http://pinterest.com/pin/31454897367956178/

Every freelancer goes through it. It’s called the feast or famine spell. I absolutely hate it and I know it’s partially because of the holiday, but anyways I wanted to share a little of what’s going on in my freelance life and some of the situations I have encountered over the last few months.

Feast:

a. A large, elaborately prepared meal, usually for many persons and often accompanied by entertainment; a banquet.

b. A meal that is well prepared and abundantly enjoyed.

-I would have to agree completely with this statement. While a freelancer is feasting, she is happy and content and nothing in the world can stop her. It’s a very rewarding time and something that every freelancer wants on his or her plate.

Famine:

 A drastic, wide-reaching food shortage.

A drastic shortage; a dearth.

Severe hunger; starvation.

–This is how I feel right now. The inner writer in me is suffering.

Relationships End

I have been working with Client A for almost seven months. It was wonderful at the beginning and I really enjoyed working with her. She had about 3 writers when I first started and just kept adding and adding to her pile. I always got paid a certain amount per word, the whole time I was with her.

Well, overtime she kept asking us to do more and more for the same pay. So instead of just writing the articles we were also putting them into WordPress, still for the same pay. At the end of the week, we also had to create an invoice for her which had links to all the blog posts on them. All this added work caused me to spend twice as much time on her projects.

Well, all of the sudden her work just stopped and we were left with nothing. So, basically it was time to move on–

What have I learned from this?

Relationships come and go in the freelance world. The way I was treated is pretty common. Just remember that the nicest client can turn his or her back in the blink of an eye.

You are just a number to most of them, which saddens me because I spent a lot of time getting to know this specific client. I learned a lot from this relationship and I hope to apply it to future business relationships.

Toast:

Here is to July and getting past this feast or famine.

Leave a Reply

