Structured Life

9 Aug

Today I did something my husband suggested; work while the kids are sleeping. Most of the time I sit down and try to stress out about working while they are awake. However, this week I am trying something different. I am structuring myself. I have a goal I want to meet but I am not going to kill myself trying. My kids need to come first and I saw a huge difference today. Here are a few things I learned while giving myself a structured environment.

1. Have support. Every time I log onto my computer I have a fellow WAH friend on the other end. Her and I have been through a lot together and we have never even met. She helps keep me motivated and gives me the confidence I need to get through the day.

2. Choose the times you want to work. I am the type of person that needs a structured environment but I also need to be flexible. Both of my children do not always sleep at the same time so its hard to depend on that as a time to work. I have found solace in staying up late after everyone else has gone to bed. I am not a morning person so this is working out pretty well for me. AS a work at home mom I am finding a perfect balance between work, play, and mommyhood.

3. Live a little. Because I work at home I find myself glued to work. I am a worry wort so I am always trying to control these situations. I gave my worry to God and said he can take control of it. It’s not my burden to carry and I cast my worry unto Him!

While I reckon not all of you are work at home moms, but I am. I chose a hard journey- even though some people think this is what they really want.

I’m headed to bed and this probably doesn’t make sense but enjoy my advice anyways. And to those grammar checkers. Leave my post alone. Go grammar check your own post. I don’t want any messages in my account in the AM ;-)!

5 Responses to “Structured Life”

  1. Miranda Grimm August 9, 2011 at 5:00 am #

    I think I am like you. I prefer to stay up late and work over getting up early. But I fight myself over it because I think it is not a good thing…for some reason. I need accept it and work with it and not against it.

  2. Katie Jones August 9, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    I think I know who you are talking about 😛

    It’s a good plan that you have! Stick with it and I’m sure the bad things will start to turn around and it’ll be all HELLA awesome!!!

    Grammar checkers, get outta heerreee.

  3. Anna August 14, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    I much prefer being a night owl to getting up early! But now with my oldest in school it’s going to be hard to stay up late since I’m having to get up so early. But yeah — working at night is definitely my favorite. It’s better than trying to work when the kids are just napping because you’re not constantly just waiting to hear them wake up. You know they’ll be asleep (if you’re lucky) for most of the night.

  4. Erica August 20, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    I think I know who you’re talking about too 🙂 As for me, I can’t last past 10 or 11 pm most days, so I prefer getting up early to being a night owl.

  5. Lindsey Whitney October 9, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    I know just what you mean with “Because I work at home I find myself glued to work” — sometimes I need to step away from the computer or whatever and actually BE A MOM. Sometimes I think it might be helpful to schedule “no work” times to I don’t slink back over to the table to do “one more thing real quick”.

Leave a Reply

