Are You Adaptable?

31 Jul

I have finally come to the conclusion that I am a Work at Home Mom. I am thrilled to death and I could not be more thankful. I think I am getting a little more comfortable with the idea of being a freelance writer and editor. However, a few things come to mind with working at home. I kept asking myself the question…am I adaptable?

My WAH mentor Miranda has always reminded me that we need to have back up work on the back-burner, which I do. But as I was thinking about my work at home journey I realized how quickly it has changed.

Just a few short months ago I was working for OnPoint. However, I quickly learned that was not going to work for me because of having children. So I quickly dived into the writing scene and never looked back. A few things I have learned from my short yet adventurous work at home career.

1. Always have a back up. You really never know what something is going to change. A company could shut down and just be on website maintenance. So always be prepared!

2. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Sometimes we blame ourselves when working for another company doesn’t work out. I have quickly learned that working at home may learn switching many jobs before you find your niche.

3. Remain adaptable. Nothing is ever going to go perfectly for you as a WAH mom, wife, or person. Simply take one day at a time and pray everything works out as God wants it to.

4. Take a break. This is something I struggle with deeply. Yesterday I was *supposed* to be taking the day off…but quickly strayed. My kids are my main priority here and I need to remember that 🙂 But being adaptable means I can pick and choose my days off and I like that. I do get a lot of quality family time in.

Are you adaptable?

7 Responses to “Are You Adaptable?”

  1. Miranda Grimm August 1, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    🙂 Thanks for the mention! You ARE a work at home mom! And a Darn good one at that!

    • Jess August 4, 2011 at 2:01 am #

      Hey. Just now saw this. I am a WAH mom. SO weird!

  2. Sharlina August 1, 2011 at 12:08 am #

    I love the new look of your blog. I’m sure this information will help tons of moms who struggle with making that final decision to work at home or not. I love your insight. Keep up the great work!

    • Jess August 1, 2011 at 12:19 am #

      Thanks girl! Love your support 🙂

  3. Teelier August 2, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Well you do what I would not. I’ve got an idea I’m going to email you for your thoughts on it. You are doing fabulous in everything you set to do! I’m always praying for you and I hope I can come up to intermingle with the kids! As soon as Dan’s new job stabilizes our budget I’ll be rollin your way! Love you Jessums!

    • Jess August 4, 2011 at 2:00 am #

      Aw love ya girl. Please email me because I am so curious now!

  4. Katie Jones August 4, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    I found it hard to adapt to the work at home scene for a while because it is completely different than clocking in and out at some B&M job! I am really enjoying it so far and will definitely keep these words of wisdom to heart.

Leave a Reply

